“Accept”

I was noticing a very pregnant woman at church recently, and I had a flashback.  I was about 7 months pregnant and feeling very cumbersome – – it was difficult to get comfortable anywhere I went, especially if there were no pillows. (Pillows are a pregnant woman’s best friends!) I had actually made it through the mass without having to go to the bathroom, and we were standing for the final blessing.  Usually, the priest or deacon will say, “Bow your heads and receive God’s blessing.”  But for some reason on this particular Sunday the priest said, “Bow your heads and accept God’s blessing.”  When my head was bowed, I was looking at my very large belly and the word “ACCEPT” really resonated with me.  These babies were truly a blessing from God.  I had only planned on one child at a time, but God had other ideas for our family.  He certainly knew how to get my attention!  I was apprehensive about becoming a mother to two babies at once, and this was only the beginning of my journey of learning to trust God.  It’s something I’m still working on today and probably will be for the rest of my life.

accept

     This makes me wonder how many blessings God has given me that I have not accepted or even been aware of.   I’m the kind of person that tries to do things on my own first.  The tape that plays in my head says, “I can handle this!”  So asking for help does not come naturally to me (and I suspect it’s the same for many women and men, too).  But I have come to realize that asking God for help eases the burdens we moms sometimes carry.  Our blessings don’t always come neatly wrapped and are not always as obvious as a new baby (or two!).  In hindsight, I see many blessings in disguise throughout my life, and I am more watchful now than I used to be.  What are your blessings?

One thought on ““Accept”

Leave a Reply

